Phone 832-699-1988
toll free 877-494-0328
Main Menu
Main Menu

blog Archives

3 things to know about hourly pay in Texas

If you are an hourly wage worker in the state of Texas, you should know some basic information about how wage and hour laws work. Sometimes employers violate certain parts of the wage and hour laws in order to maximize profits, while cheating their employees out of regular or overtime pay they are legally entitled to.

Immigrant agricultural workers are often treated unfairly

When you moved to Texas from your home country, your goal was to build a better life for you and your family. You have many opportunities in the United States, but like others, you had to start from the bottom and work your way up. As a farm worker, your skills are necessary for everyone living in the country, but if you are facing wage and hour injustices by your employer, you are unfortunately far from alone.

Migrant farm workers are often subjected to employer abuse

When you came to America, you did so with the hope of creating a better life for you and your family. Working on a farm is one of the most common ways for migrants to make a living and get a good start in our country. You and other farmworkers in Texas need to understand that, just like natural-born citizens, you have the right to fair and humane treatment by your employers. Unfortunately, the opposite is true for far too many migrant workers across the country.

What is wage theft?

If you are a worker who receives minimum wage, every penny of your paycheck counts. Some workers are victims of wage theft. This occurs when your employer somehow pays you less than what the company actually owes you. This type of theft can happen when your employer steals your tips, does not pay you for the overtime you have worked or forces you to work off the clock. 

How to know if you are entitled to overtime pay

To protect workers' rights, there are state and federal laws concerning overtime pay. In the state of Texas, employers have to pay overtime if employees work more than 40 hours a week. That means if an employee workers 12 hours one day, 10 hours the next, 12 hours the following day and nothing else for the rest of the week, then he could not receive overtime. Some states work on a daily basis. 

Can I pump milk at work?

If you are a mother in Texas who is breastfeeding, you may wonder what your rights are in this area. For example, can you take breaks to express milk? Where can you do so?

How to file a wage claim in Texas

As an hourly employee in Texas, you have a right to minimum wage compensation at $7.25 per hour, the same amount as the federal minimum wage. The state does not, however, have its own overtime laws, which means that your employer must also adhere to overtime guidelines set at the federal level.

How employers illegally discriminate against immigrant workers

As an immigrant in Texas, you are a valuable member of the state. Texas has a large immigrant population that boosts the economy and contributes to the community. However, despite your value and hard work, some people may discriminate against you. You might even encounter discrimination and hostility at your workplace.

Email us for Response

Start By Scheduling A Consultation

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

Warren & Siurek, L.L.P.
3334 Richmond Avenue, Suite 100
Houston, TX 77098

Toll Free: 877-497-0328
Phone: 832-699-1988
Fax: 713-522-9977
Map & Directions

office numbers